Deenie\’s world

Grab some popcorn and join us!

Wasted beauty October 8, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — deenie @ 10:45 pm

I just killed a flower. A rose, actually. A red one. You see, I was about to climb into bed when I remembered I hadn’t put this rose I bought from a little boy in water. Not wanting it to die overnight, I tiptoed downstairs and into the kitchen, where I began trying to pull the rose out of the plastic cone it was wrapped in. It seemed to be stuck with tape, so I pulled harder. Next thing I knew, the top of it popped off. Now I had a stem in one hand and a rose in the other. I felt absolutely terrible. 

Not one to give up so easily, I filled a tiny coffee cup with water and dunked the head of the rose in there. I don’t know how long it’ll last.  

It smells really nice, too. In science class back in the day, we learned that plants are living creatures. If that’s true, did this rose have any feelings? I really, really hope not. 

I’m sorry, rose.

 

 

3 Responses to “Wasted beauty”

  1. istas Says:

    ooooh deenie! i assure you it didn’t have any feelings, and if it did, you didn’t mean it… so you can’t help that this happened its fate! this story is soooooo you, you see the hope in everything, i love it how u put the rose in a coffee cup, awww! if it was me i would have just thrown it out!

  2. deenie Says:

    oh, izzi! I can always count on you to reply to my posts 😀

    I don’t know about the fate thing, though; Is it really fate, or was it simply a result of my rough-handling it?? maybe if i was more gentle in retrieving it from the plastic, it wouldn’t have had to happen.

    In other words, when can we stop blaming our own actions and start blaming destiny?

    hehe. In case you’re just DYING to know, the flower head made it 🙂 at least up til now. It still looks fresh and healthy and it smells nice. I just put more water in the little cup.

  3. MSB Says:

    u chopped its head off?!?! :O


Leave a Reply

