Deenie\’s world

Grab some popcorn and join us!

100 Things You Should Know About Me September 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — deenie @ 9:34 pm

Here’s a (long) list of things about Deenie, as Izzi “tagged” me to do it 🙂 I guess you’ll know me sooner than you expected to…

1. I’m terrified of dogs and most animals, but I like them

2. I don’t like it when people think they have me all figured out. Don’t box me in!

 3. I keep a hidden diary, and though nothing in it is particularly scandalous, I would die if anyone ever read it

4. I love Ryan from The OC

5. My favorite character on Desperate Housewives is Bree, and then Gabi

6. Barbecues are one of the funnest events in the world. Especially when hot dogs are involved.

7. I’m scared of fire to the point where I can’t light a match

8. I’m proud of being a Sagittarius, and feel it’s very much me

9. Fall is my favorite season because it’s nostalgic and yet fresh at the same time

10. I enjoy almost every kind of music, even country

11. I grew up on Sweet Valley High and Saved by the Bell

12. I think Judy Blume is a brilliant writer

13. I love food. No, really. Love it.

14. I think my fitness trainer has the most charming personality

15. When I was young, I dreamt of working at a magazine, and now that I do, I can’t remember why.

16. Honesty makes me feel comfortable. But so does politeness.

17. The best looking guy I ever saw worked at Abercrombie & Fitch in Honolulu, Hawaii

18. Honolulu, Hawaii is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been.

19. … in addition to Paris. And I’m dying to go to Italy, as well as any place with rolling green hills.

20. I know it’s cheesy, but I secretly love romance novels.

21. I’m really not that interested in physical appearance.

22. I once had an uncanny, inexplicable crush on a man more than three times my age – my parents’ friend – and I never told anyone about it

23. I’m not afraid of confrontation AT ALL, when it comes to my rights (like telling someone what I think is right or wrong, talking to my boss, etc) But I’m extremely shy about meeting people for the first time.

24. I’m the biggest procrastinator ever. I even put off writing to-do lists

25. I love receiving compliments

26. I fear public speaking, and once froze while giving a speech in the 7th grade.

27. I’ve never been to Texas or Colorado, but I’ve always wanted to

28. I’ve always thought cowboys were attractive

29. My dream is to write a great novel

30. I hope to wear the hijab one day, inshallah

31. I own at least 30 books I haven’t yet read

32. Throughout my teen years, I must have had at least 200 crushes, and that’s no exaggeration

33. I tend to like guys who like me first – it makes them charming. Plus, they have good taste 😀 OK, that was obnoxious, sorry

34. My soul-mate is someone I used to fight with when we were kids

35. I love brownies

36. I think brainy guys are cute

37. I once seriously considered marrying my cousin – but I quickly came to my senses

38. I’m still afraid of ghosts

39. If I could be any actress, I’d pick Mischa Barton on The OC

40. I could never pick a favorite movie, song or book… I have millions

41. When I was 7, I pranked 911 and lived in fear for years that the cops were going to come and get me

42. I survived a tornado when I was 17.

43. I like it when people ask me where I’m from

44. I have funny-shaped thumbs that remind me of ET’s head

45. There was a time when I was a server at a restaurant in the States, and I absolutely loved it.

46. I love french fries

47. I love the show Cribs on MTV. Wish I had a dream house of my own

48. I’d love to be an astronaut, a top chef, a teacher, a librarian, a nurse, a novelist who lives by the sea, a soap opera star, a psychologist, an entrepreneur, an interior decorator, an ambassador, a hairstylist or a stay-at-home mother who makes really good cookies

49. I love sandy beaches… but who doesn’t?

50. I wish I was more religious

51. I hate it when people put ketchup in the wrong places, ie, drizzled all over fries so you can’t help but get it all over your fingers, on a napkin which gets disgustingly soggy, mixing with unrelated items on the plate, etc

52. I think bottled water tastes kind of weird, unless it’s Ghadeer

53. Having pancakes for breakfast makes my day

54. I really, truly enjoy the simple things in life

55. I’m pretty good with money without even trying*

56. I believe you should always be thankful

57. My favorite holiday in the States has always been Thanksgiving (because turkey dinner + family = winning combination)

58. I haven’t had a happy Valentine’s Day since the 3rd grade

59. My late grandmother (God rest her soul) from Ramallah once chased a 5-year-old American friend who lived on my street out of our garage with a broom, thinking he was an intruder; he never came back

60. I despise talking on the phone, and find it to be a chore, unless it’s with family or two specific friends who shall remain nameless

61. I love staying in nice hotels, especially when I’m traveling for work 🙂

62. I am highly protective of my family, and fiercely loyal to my friends

63. Lots of people mistake me for being naive, because I trust and believe in people so much, but I’m not. I see people for exactly what they are – but I also have a habit of seeing good in everyone.

64. I always managed to talk my way out of trouble in high school

65. I have 75 first cousins. Yes. And don’t get me started on second cousins…

66. I hate it when people make a joke out of sex (sex toys, gag gifts and vulgar cakes at parties), and although I’ve never had sex, I think it shouldn’t be regarded like that. But that’s just me 🙂 You can do whatever you want

67. When it comes to a guy’s looks, the most important thing to me is that he’s tall and broad-shouldered. I also like a lot of hair (on his head), warm eyes and white teeth.

68. What I don’t like is skinny calves (But I don’t mind chubby guys), feminine hands or a way-too-hairy body.

69. I never really understood the theater, and I don’t really care to.

70. Although I’m a very uncritical person, and I like almost everyone, I’m very picky about who I like as friends

71. I’ve never been in a long-term relationship, though my heart’s been broken a few times.

72. One of my biggest pet peeves is bad service

73. Religious gatherings make me feel really good inside

74. I’m not ready to die, but I’m not afraid of it

75. I’d love to live in London; I’ve never been there, but I know I’d like it

76. I wouldn’t mind being stranded on a deserted island, but only if I knew I’d be rescued. And if I had a hunky guy around to get food and build a hut

77. I love it when the sky changes colors at sunset

78. I love, love, love thunderstorms, and rainy days

79. If it wasn’t against my religion, I’d try drinking wine

80. My goal, for the past 11 years, has been to have slimmer thighs

81. I just can’t stand Dr Phil

82. I can never remember any jokes, ever

83. Jelly beans make me sick

84. I can’t dance, but I wish I could

85. I think chemistry is impossible and doesn’t make sense

86. I’d love to have a nice husband, four bright kids, an SUV and a comfortable home someday, inshallah

87. I like math – it makes me feel smart

88. I don’t like people who are inconsiderate

89. I despise people who treat their maids like shit

90. I have a soft spot for old people, especially nice old men who work for an honest living

91. I could never, ever ask for a better family or better friends*

92. The only food I don’t really like is tahini sauce. But I don’t mind it in hummus

93. I really love long car-rides, especially when someone else is driving

94. I’m really good at parallel parking

95. I wouldn’t mind going to the movies by myself

96. I cry at things that move me or when I’m happy, but I rarely cry when I’m upset

97. Making others happy makes me happy

98. I’m not a very good cook, but I’d like to be

99. I hate practical jokes. There’s nothing funny about making someone believe something that isn’t true. I only like them when they’re being filmed on TV for a reaction, but not always.

100. I don’t like surprises.

 

8 Responses to “100 Things You Should Know About Me”

  1. MSB Says:

    glad u managed to get the 100 to show..

    2. i love this point! i definitely agree on this one..
    10. no no, no country music! (except for ‘thunder rolls’)
    30. inshAllah =)
    59. Allah Yer7amha. That’s hilarious! =)
    65. :O MashAllah!!!!!!!
    82. Me neither! Never could figure out how ppl do it!
    88. YES!
    89. YES!

  2. Danah Says:

    deenie 🙂 .. I was reading them 100 points with a wide grin on my face, actually there were some points where I couldn’t help laughing 🙂 ..

    3. heheheI too !!! an old one though .. haven’t wrote any diaries for years now .
    13. This can’t be a problem .. because I do too !
    20. Me too , I wonder who drove me into that .. lol 😉
    22. I never knew that !!lol
    24. + 25. + 26. Same here 🙂
    29. + 30. Inshallah 🙂
    33. No it wasn’t obnoxious .. They surely have a great taste dear 🙂
    41. No kidding .. this make me crack up deenie .. lol hilarious .
    50. Inshallah you will .. I wish that for me too .
    59. LOL ! Allah yer7amha
    62. 🙂
    67. we have something in common here
    71. I keep thinking , they don’t know what they’ve missed .
    78. I’d share the love-rain-part
    80. Oh my … this reminds me of someone else** .. but trust me , you look great 🙂
    85. LOL .. tell me about it .. it had to make sense to me at some point in my life !
    86. Inshallah you will one day soon 🙂
    88. YES
    89. Agree
    93. Yes , especially when you can focus on the road beautiful sense , and for some reason , it is a good time to meditate
    100. This is good and important to know 🙂

  3. istas Says:

    1. I’m terrified of dogs and most animals, but I like them (I’m so sorry for forcing Snowy on you, I really didn’t know that u were that scared of dogs back then)
    4. I love Ryan from The OC (TRAITOR)
    5. My favorite character on Desperate Housewives is Bree, and then Gabi( moi aussi 🙂
    7. I’m scared of fire to the point where I can’t light a match (I had no idea! Loool but what about… deenie u smell like… what? Why! Loooooooooooooool)
    8. I’m proud of being a Sagittarius, and feel it’s very much me (deenie you know what a Sagittarian did to me right 😦 but you were right about the never going back on decision thing u said. Sagittarians really don’t!)
    11. I grew up on Sweet Valley High and Saved by the Bell (you know what? Lets get some new sweet valley; I’m so in the mood these days I don’t know why!)
    12. I think Judy Blume is a brilliant writer( summer sisters 🙂
    14. I think my fitness trainer has the most charming personality (oooh so that’s why ur so loyal to your gym, the truth comes out now!)
    16. Honesty makes me feel comfortable. But so does politeness. (Extra politeness makes me nervous!)
    18. Honolulu, Hawaii is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. (I didn’t know u went there believe it or not tell me details later 🙂
    19. … in addition to Paris. And I’m dying to go to Italy, as well as any place with rolling green hills. (YALLA LETS GO TO ITALY! SET A DATE!!!!!!!!)
    20. I know it’s cheesy, but I secretly love romance novels. (Hehe what girl doesn’t! that’s why we all have such screwed up ideas of what romance is supposed to be like and we always end up disappointed in real life!)
    21. I’m really not that interested in physical appearance. (Me neither, I’m in love with Adrian Brody, and he’s a Jew.)
    22. I once had an uncanny, inexplicable crush on a man more than three times my age – my parents’ friend – and I never told anyone about it (what!!! Tell me details later!!!)
    23. I’m not afraid of confrontation AT ALL, when it comes to my rights (like telling someone what I think is right or wrong, talking to my boss, etc) But I’m extremely shy about meeting people for the first time.(Me too me too me too)
    24. I’m the biggest procrastinator ever. I even put off writing to-do lists( really! Oh it doesn’t show at all !)
    25. I love receiving compliments (You’re the best I love you 🙂
    26. I fear public speaking, and once froze while giving a speech in the 7th grade.( Me too me too )
    28. I’ve always thought cowboys were attractive (oh I bet u you only started to find them attractive after watching brokeback mountain :p)
    31. I own at least 30 books I haven’t yet read (I’ll read them :P)
    33. I tend to like guys who like me first – it makes them charming. Plus, they have good taste OK, that was obnoxious, sorry( me too me too me too, I like it when they like me first and flirt too obviously!)
    39. If I could be any actress, I’d pick Mischa Barton on The OC( me too , or if your taking mischa, I’ll take keri russell, Felicity)
    41. When I was 7, I pranked 911 and lived in fear for years that the cops were going to come and get me( loooooooooooool ur so cute!)
    59. My late grandmother (God rest her soul) from Ramallah once chased a 5-year-old American friend who lived on my street out of our garage with a broom, thinking he was an intruder; he never came back( heheheheeh I’m going to tell my mom this story its just tooo funny)
    60. I despise talking on the phone, and find it to be a chore, unless it’s with family or two specific friends who shall remain nameless ( lol! Whooops whooops whoops oopsie daisy)
    61. I love staying in nice hotels, especially when I’m traveling for work (Yalla lets go to a nice hotel and travel! Set a date!!!!)
    62. I am highly protective of my family, and fiercely loyal to my friends (grrr!)
    67. When it comes to a guy’s looks, the most important thing to me is that he’s tall and broad-shouldered. I also like a lot of hair (on his head), warm eyes and white teeth.( We will buy that horse!)
    68. What I don’t like is skinny calves (But I don’t mind chubby guys), feminine hands or a way-too-hairy body( Hehehe wadaya think of chicken legs at the DVD shop? Oooh I’m so mean)
    74. I’m not ready to die, but I’m not afraid of it I’m not afraid of death, only of the pain before death…
    75. I’d love to live in London; I’ve never been there, but I know I’d like it (Yalla lets go!!!! Set a date!!!)
    76. I wouldn’t mind being stranded on a deserted island, but only if I knew I’d be rescued. And if I had a hunky guy around to get food and build a hut (ooooh can I come!)
    94. I’m really good at parallel parking ( lol ! yes! Me too!)
    100. I don’t like surprises. (Oooh whops!)

  4. fractal00 Says:

    4. Bwahahaha we are growing in numbers
    10. ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHH NO COUNTRY NO COUNTRY
    15. Fashion Stuff or political stuff or fashion stuff???
    22. No comment
    26. I hear you .. i hear you …*sighs*
    31. I havn’t read a book in 3 years .. this week i am planning to change that.
    46. Yummy… they are the best 😀
    47. I love it and hate, i love watching i hate that i am not living there.
    46. Join the club …
    54.I agree
    59.That’s funny ..
    70.I know tons of people .. but i have few friends and even fewer people whom i tell stuff about me
    81. BURN BURN BURN
    93. =)
    97. True True =) same here

  5. A few things caught my attention. You said you’re not that interested in physical appearance yet a few of your points are about how you want your man to look!! And in addition to the looks, you also said brainy guys are cute. Well, good luck finding that man :D.

    By the way, was that inconsiderate thing for me?
    I think you just wasted 100 posts as each one of these points could probably be made into an entire post!! 😀

    I just noticed, you have a tiny smiley face at the very bottom of your blog.

  6. istas Says:

    wow mechanical i cant believe u noticed that, all wordpress users have it.

  7. deenie Says:

    MSB: Thanks for reading and for your support 🙂 Glad you agree on the boxing people in thing – don’t you just hate that?? And country isn’t so bad; I don’t actually listen to it, but I figure I’m sure there are some OK songs. What on Earth is Thunder Rolls? hehe

    Danah: I’m soooo glad you managed to get a smile (and a giggle or two) out of this post! It’s good it served SOME purpose! LOL. Thanks for all the nice things you said, ie, about me not having thunder thighs, about those guys having good taste (haha) and most of all for supporting my dreams. I will tell you about #22 next time, lol, although there’s not much to say, naturally 😀
    PS: Surprises and phone calls from you are always welcome

    Istas: First things first, while Snowy made my heart beat race a couple times, having him around was good “practice” for my dog-o-phobia! hehe. *I don’t see how anyone can not like Ryan…and that thing he does with his eyes is NOT weird, I don’t care what you say 🙂 *I’m very ready for some SVH too – shall we DVD it or order a boxful of used paperbacks online? Which sounds less pathetic? *So true! About the warped views of ROMANCE due to those misleading novels! Why do they write them? Why? I guess to give fools like us something to dream about *I don’t think there’s anything wrong with Adrian Brody; But then again, am I the most reliable source? See #22! *You have to admit, Brokeback Mountain is a good reason for anyone to switch to country 🙂 *Why did you “grrr” on #62? *I’ll have to check out Chicken Legs next time – I usually don’t pay attention to that sort of thing when I’m on a mission to nab Grey’s Anatomy and get the heck out of there.. but he can be as chicken-legged as he wants, as long as he lets me return DVDs late (which I have a horrible habit of doing) *#74: Let’s not even talk about that! 😦 *Sure, you can come to my deserted island, but here are the ground rules: BYOH (that’s Bring Your Own Hunk). That way, we’ll each get food and a hut and have time to sunbathe and read SVH…
    *Thanks for taking the time to reply, and by the way, surprises and phone calls from you are always welcome 🙂

    Fractal: So, wait a minute, YOU like Ryan too?! *The magazine I work at is social stuff, and fashion stuff and lifestyle stuff, so I guess a combo of everything. *Did you get to read your book? *Yay, a fellow French fry lover 😀 *I hope you get to have your very own dream house one day *We really DO have lots in common. Thanks for replying!

    Mechanical Crowds: Good observation – I thought of that as I was writing the list, and you’re right, there is a contradiction! But in my defense, truthfully, when I’m attracted to a guy, I’m attracted to something way beyond looks – it’s kind of hard to explain. And it doesn’t happen very often, at least not nowadays (my days of serial crushing are long gone with my teen years!) But I do admit that if I was attracted to a guy in that way, and he happened to have those qualities I mentioned (I think it only happened once before), it would be a very big bonus 😀
    By the way, what inconsiderate thing? I left you a loooonnnnnng reply on a very old post of yours (how to be inconsiderate), if that’s what you mean.
    Isn’t that tiny smiley so cool?
    I won’t take credit for it though – It just appeared by itself. hehe

  8. Maze Says:

    hiii…well very long post…i’m glad u love Italy…:)


Leave a Reply

