Deenie\’s world

Grab some popcorn and join us!

Hi everybody September 24, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — deenie @ 9:39 pm

Welcome to my blog, and thanks for visiting 🙂  My name is Deenie* and I’m 24. I work in a publishing job that I love, even though it gets on my nerves a lot. About two weeks ago I told myself I’d never start a blog (because everyone else seemed to be doing it) but, alas, looks like that theory went to heck. (Am I allowed to write “hell” in here?! As you can see, I’m totally new at this…)

So I know I totally contradicted myself, but it just seemed that everywhere I turned, all I would hear was “blog, blog, blog”, and I found myself succumbing to the pressure.  Suddenly blogging sounded like fun. I guess we’ll see how that pans out 🙂 And I guess this goes to show that you should never say never, right? Well, most of the time anyway.

Today was the first day of Ramadan (in Jordan) and the second day for many others around the world (why we all can’t start on the same day is beyond me… if anyone has an answer to that question, please share) so I’d like to wish all my Muslim brothers and sisters around the world a very happy and fulfilling Ramadan… And people of all faiths and backgrounds, I also wish you happiness, peace and prosperity this month and always. 

Not to end on such a cheesy note, but I guess that’s enough for one day, no? I wouldn’t want to bore you to death from the very first post, and besides, I should get to bed. I have a long day ahead of me tomorrow. Eww, just thinking about all the work I have to do. Like I said, I love my job, but it can be very demanding, especially during crunch time, which is fast approaching… like, now 😦

But I’ve found that the most important thing when dealing with an all-consuming job like mine is to make sure to save time and energy for yourself and things you want to do outside of work. For example, I’ve been wanting to watch Grey’s Anatomy for the longest time, and I just got around to starting that today. I watched the first three episodes (not quite the Ramadan spirit, I know, but at least I acknowledge it) and I already love it. Have you seen it? I know, the show’s been on forever, and I’m freaking late to catch on… just like I’m late with starting this damn blog. But don’t tell me what happens 🙂

Yay, I’m so excited about my new blog. I can already think of 100 topics I want to write about. I hope you’ll come back and visit me soon. And thanks so much for reading it all the way through.

 Have a great day 🙂

*that’s so not my name, for the record

 

12 Responses to “Hi everybody”

  1. izzi Says:

    i love your blog deenie, its so you… sure you can write ‘hell’, its ur blog, u can write anything you want 😛 ur not so late on starting things because look at me, i never even watched a single episode of Grey, but i want to, soon! lol crunch time at work… hehe… i can’t wait to read ur one hundred topics… ooooh speaking of 100 things… i tag you with the ‘100 things u should know about me list’… now i can’t wait to read that! 🙂 your blog really is soooo you! it’s perfect.

  2. izzi Says:

    who else do we know that has a blog… dish!

  3. Danah Says:

    Hey deenie ..
    yep .. never say never .. everyone is catching the blogging fever lately , and you know what , you could get addicted !
    I like your writing style 🙂 .. so much fun and interactive .. can’t wait to read the coming posts ..keep them coming !

  4. deenie Says:

    Thanks so much Istas and tealover for leaving those nice comments on my blog 🙂

  5. fractal00 Says:

    Hahaha now i can see why you said the way we think is alike. Cos we are you bounce all over the place as well. Welcome to the Blogosphere Deenz … Hope you stick here for a while, you seem like an interesting person.

  6. izzi Says:

    she is so interesting we are so lucky that she decided to start a blog! 🙂 you can thank me!

  7. I have no idea how I came here, but welcome to the blogosphere.

  8. MSB Says:

    welcome.. yala, we’re waiting for ur next post! 😉

  9. deenie Says:

    hi you guys,
    thanks a bunch for visiting and reading my post. i already went to a couple of your blog sites, they’re great.

    fractal: hehe, it’s so funny how we’re alike and we never would’ve known it if it wasn’t for this blog invention… i wonder how many of us there are out there 🙂 I plan on revisiting your blog very soon.

    mechanicalcrowds: however you got here, i’m glad… i read the comments on your Islam riddle and found them really interesting, but they’re the type of comments that make my head spin. I wanted to write an opinion myself but felt it would just get lost in the masses – seems like there’s an overload on that topic 🙂 – and also i didn’t because it’s like 5:00am and my brain is all jumbled. I will say one thing though (here, if you don’t mind) How come when people talk about religion and faith, they get so bent out of shape and defensive and angry? I just wish people could have discussions about these huge, central issues without getting all worked up about it. why do we get worked up? i think it’s because we feel threatened when someone questions our beliefs. But I think that’s not right. We should be secure enough in our faith to not feel threatened. And if we’re not secure about it, then we either a) have work to do in order to get secure, or b) we have no business defending it. Anyway, great topic – and I’m really impressed by how you handled all those intense responses.

    By the way, that hug story (the one about the stuttering) was so beautiful. I found it revealed more about your character than all the things people were assuming about you by you posting that riddle.

    MSB: I have yet to view your site! Will do that soon 🙂 thanks for reading my one entry… There’ll be more coming soon, i think…

  10. deenie, your words about the topic are very wise & your words about me are very kind!!

    I hope you don’t judge me (good or bad) by those few posts. You should check out my post ‘How To Be Inconsiderate’ in the August archive.

    I hope we get to know you better…

    take care

  11. Green Data Says:

    Welcome to blogosphere

  12. Dee Says:

    Hey, Just came across your blog!! Looks interesting so far, keep it up 🙂 Was an interesting read 🙂
    Dee


Leave a Reply

